Lily

This is Lily, my father’s Pomeranian.  Several months ago I was showing him my latest landscape, and he wondered if I could do a portrait of her.   I have never done a dog before in any medium and wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  After he left I decided that her portrait would be a perfect birthday and father’s day gift.  Through the process of this painting my daughter and boyfriend cracked up laughing numerous times, eventually they both said it was really cute, I thought I was done.  I sent the picture to my friend in Spain and she thought it was my dog, since the family canine is a Shiba Inu, I knew I needed to do more work.  Friday night I was finally happy with the portrait.   I was really worried about giving it to my dad, because I didn’t know if he was going to like it.  However, I have never seen my dad that happy with any gift I have given him.  I think my first dog portrait was a success and I can’t wait to see it in his new home.

Leave a Reply

